Canadian Gamer versus Japan (regarding JGC)
  • I'm a Canadian University Student (major in Japanese), and I just received my acceptance letter to attend Kansai Gaidai University in Hirakata starting in September. I was checking out the JGC website (because I am very interested in gaming while in Japan), and I was very excited to see that the convention happens about a week after I land.

Here's the trick. I know that my language skills won't yet be up to playing in a game. I would love to attend though, and just watch what games are there and see what the convention is like.

Is anyone planning to go, and would someone be willing to help me out during the event? I've only learned basic sentences and very limited vocabulary, and I know the whole experience will be very stressful. I'd really appreciate if I could meet someone at the convention and maybe get a hand.

Thanks,
    Scooter
  • Hey Scooter, I really wish I could help! Unfortunately, things have never quite lined up for me to be able to get to the JGC when I visit. I suspect that if you go (like, for a day) you would mostly be walking around, taking pictures, visiting the game-seller booths, maybe attending some lecture-events rather than actual play events. There are going to be a number of lecture events: Since the company Group SNE are the ones that have a high hand in organizing the thing, they tend to have events like, "Hear the creator of Game X talk about next year's planned releases!" and the like. At least with those, you can sit and try to keep up with what is happening.